News Release
News Release
News Release
News Release
October 16, 2008
Zamir Ahmed

NABEF and BEA Announce PSA Competition Winners

WASHINGTON, DC – The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) and the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) announced today the winners of their public service announcement (PSA) competition for college communications students. Timing of the awards is in recognition of National Freedom of Speech Week, October 20 to 26.

The winning students will receive scholarships in the amounts of $3,000 for first place, $2,000 for second place and $1,000 for third place. Funding for the program is made possible through the support of the McCormick Foundation.

"By strengthening the voices of college students across America, this competition serves as a powerful reminder of the importance of the First Amendment," said NAB President and CEO David K. Rehr. "We congratulate the winning students and look forward to sharing their PSAs with our member stations."

The student-produced PSAs are 30 seconds each and address "What freedom of speech means to me." The winners are:

Radio 1st place: Steve Suess of Illinois State University
Radio 2nd place: Andrew Brown of West Texas A&M
Radio 3rd place: Kendra Wright of Howard University

Television 1st place: Cristie Rosham of Arizona State University
Television 2nd place: Colin Drake, James Dawkins and Michael Rodriquez of the University of Oklahoma
Television 3rd place: Jessica Smedlund, Charlene New and Michael Rodriquez of the University of Oklahoma

The six PSAs will be made available to radio and television stations throughout the country. Beginning October 20, downloadable radio spots will be available online at the NAB Spot Center. The television PSAs will be included on this month's PSA satellite feed on Friday, October 17 from 11:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. Satellite coordinates are: C-Band, Galaxy 25, Transponder C15, Analog, 97 degrees West, Downlink Frequency 4000 - Vertical, Audio: 6.2/6.8.

The NAB Education Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to serving the public interest in supporting and advocating: education and training programs, strategies to increase diversity, initiatives stressing the importance of the First Amendment, community service, philanthropy and timely broadcasting issues.

About BEA
The Broadcast Education Association is the professional association for professors, industry professionals and graduate students who are interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia enterprises. There are currently almost 1,600 faculty, student, institutional and professional members.

About McCormick Foundation
The McCormick Foundation is a nonprofit organization committed to strengthening our free, democratic society by investing in children, communities and country. Through its five grantmaking programs, Cantigny Park and Golf, and three world-class museums, the Foundation helps build a more active and engaged citizenry. It was established as a charitable trust in 1955, upon the death of Colonel Robert R. McCormick, the longtime editor and publisher of the Chicago Tribune. The McCormick Foundation is one of the nation’s largest charities, with $1.2 billion in assets. For more information, please visit

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. As the voice of more than 8,300 radio and television stations, NAB advances their interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at