News Release
News Release
News Release
News Release
June 22, 2015
Ann Marie Cumming

NAB Education Foundation Congratulates 2015 Broadcast Leadership Training Graduates

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) announced today that the 2015 Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) class graduated this month, following a 10-month, Executive MBA-style program that teaches the fundamentals of purchasing, owning and operating radio and television stations. The final student roster can be found here.

The program, now in its 15th year, targets senior level broadcast executives who aspire to advance as group executives or station owners. To encourage diversity in broadcasting, NABEF offers fellowships to women and people of color. A number of BLT graduates are in varying stages of station acquisition.

This year, topics included securing funding, identifying stations, developing a business plan, due diligence and operating for success. Students had the opportunity to network with other broadcasters, Federal Communications Commission (FCC) staff, communications attorneys and members of the banking community.

This class makes 255 past program graduates, 43 who currently own or have owned stations, and more than 100 who have been promoted at least once.

"The BLT program offers the industry’s best and brightest the equivalent of a masters in broadcasting," said NABEF President Marcellus Alexander. "With each year's graduating class, our industry benefits as the broadcast leadership bar is raised."

"The class of 2015 was another motivated, smart and creative group of experienced broadcasters that I know will go on to make their mark on our industry," said Diane Sutter, founder, president and CEO of ShootingStar Broadcasting and the founder and dean of the BLT program. "Five of them were promoted while completing the program and I look forward to tracking all of their continued success in the future."

NABEF and Sutter tapped industry experts to serve as associate deans of the program. The 2015 associate deans were Trila Bumstead, owner, Ohana Media Group; Anita Stephens-Graham, co-founder and managing director, Graham and Associates; Marc Jaromin, president, Mojo Brands Media, LLC; DuJuan McCoy, president and CEO, Bayou City Broadcasting; and Jeanette Tully, CEO, Aloha Station Trust.

BLT program sponsors include NAB, Bayou City Broadcasting, Beasley Broadcast Group, Cox Media Group, Hearst Television, Legend Communications, TopLine Matters/Futuri, Morgan Murphy Media, Quincy, Raycom Media, Schurz Communications, WAGM-TV and Univision. Click here for more information.

The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to serving broadcasters and the public interest by supporting and advocating community service, diversity, education and broadcasting issues and trends. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at