News Release
News Release
News Release
News Release
June 28, 2016
Ann Marie Cumming

NAB Education Foundation Congratulates 2016 Broadcast Leadership Training Graduates

WASHINGTON, D.C.-- The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) announced that the 2016 Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) class graduated this month following a 10-month Executive MBA-style program that teaches the fundamentals of purchasing, owning, operating and managing radio and television stations. The final student roster can be found here.

The program, now in its 16th year, targets senior level broadcast executives who aspire to advance as group executives or station owners. To encourage diversity in broadcasting, NABEF offers fellowships to women and people of color. A number of BLT graduates are in varying stages of station acquisition.

This year, topics included securing funding, identifying stations for purchase, developing a business plan, exercising due diligence and implementing successful management strategies. Students had the opportunity to network with other broadcasters, Federal Communications Commission (FCC) staff, communications attorneys and members of the banking community.

With this class, 270 participants have graduated from the program, 65 percent of whom have been promoted at least once.

"Every year, BLT offers the industry’s best and brightest the equivalent of a masters degree in broadcasting," said NABEF President Marcellus Alexander. "With each graduating class, this industry benefits as the broadcast leadership bar is raised."

"This year's BLT program participants are a tight-knit group of highly-skilled individuals, who I know will go on to lead the broadcast industry to even greater heights," said Diane Sutter, founder, president and CEO of ShootingStar Broadcasting and the founder and dean of the BLT program.

Industry experts served as associate deans for the program. The 2016 associate deans include Trila Bumstead, owner, Ohana Media Group; Anita Stephens-Graham, co-founder and managing director, Graham and Associates; Marc Jaromin, president, Mojo Brands Media, LLC; DuJuan McCoy, president and CEO, Bayou City Broadcasting; and Jeanette Tully, CEO, Aloha Station Trust.

This year’s program sponsors include NAB, Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc., Cox Media Group, Futuri, Gray, Hearst Television, Legend Communications, Morgan Murphy Media, Quincy Media, Raycom Media, Schurz Communications, Univision Communications, and WAGM-TV.

Click here for additional information.

The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to serving broadcasters and the public interest by supporting and advocating community service, diversity, education and broadcasting issues and trends. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at