News Release
News Release
News Release
News Release
September 16, 2016
Ann Marie Cumming

NAB Education Foundation Announces 2016 Freedom of Speech PSA Contest Winners

WASHINGTON, D.C.-- The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) and the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) today announced the winners of the Freedom of Speech Public Service Announcement Contest for college communications students. The winners are awarded a $2,500 scholarship.

To compete, students submit 30-second spots that creatively address “What Freedom of Speech means to me.” The winning entries are:


Felicia Tonga
Andrews University
“Protect Our Future”


Melvin Johnson III
American Broadcasting School
“More Than Words”

The Freedom of Speech PSA Contest is presented by NABEF and BEA. The PSAs may be viewed here and downloaded from Stations are encouraged to run the spots during Free Speech Week, October 17-23.

The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to serving broadcasters and the public interest by supporting and advocating community service, diversity, education and broadcasting issues and trends. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at