News Release
News Release
News Release
News Release
June 25, 2018
Ann Marie Cumming

NAB Education Foundation Announces 2018 Broadcast Leadership Training Graduates

WASHINGTON, D.C.-- The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) announced the 2018 Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) class graduated this month following a 10-month Executive MBA-style program that teaches the fundamentals of purchasing, owning, operating and managing radio and television stations. The final participant roster can be found here.

The program targets senior level broadcast executives who aspire to advance as group executives or station owners. To encourage diversity in broadcasting, NABEF offers fellowships to women and people of color. A number of BLT graduates are in varying stages of station acquisition.

This year, program topics included securing funding, identifying stations for purchase, developing a business plan and implementing successful management strategies. Students networked with other broadcasters, Federal Communications Commission (FCC) staff, communications attorneys and members of the banking community. Program participants also had the opportunity to attend the 2018 NAB State Leadership Conference, NAB Show in Las Vegas and the NABEF Celebration of Service Awards.

With this class, 307 participants have graduated from the program.

“I am thrilled to see this class of talented broadcasters join the ranks of other successful industry leaders who have benefited from the BLT program," said NABEF President Marcellus Alexander. "We look forward to watching as they achieve new career heights and positively impact our industry.”

Diane Sutter, president and CEO of ShootingStar Broadcasting, is the founder and dean of the program. Industry experts serve as associate deans for the program. The 2018 associate deans include Trila Bumstead, owner, Ohana Media Group; Anita Stephens-Graham, co-founder and managing director, Graham and Associates; Marc Jaromin, president, Roundtable Broadcasting; and Jeanette Tully, CEO, Aloha Station Trust.

This year’s program sponsors include Beasley Broadcast Group, Cox Media Group, Fox TV Stations, Futuri, Gray Television, Hearst Television, Legend Communications, Morgan Murphy Media, NAB, Nielsen Foundation, Quincy Media and The E.W. Scripps Company.

Registration is open for the 2019 BLT program through August 30.

Click here for additional information.

The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to serving broadcasters and the public interest by supporting and advocating community service, diversity, education and broadcasting issues and trends. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at